We’ve seen many images of our city’s lovely skyline, but none perhaps as unique as the one St. Louis Priory senior Connor Wright created at The Magic House. Using 300,000 crayons in 77 colors (gathered with the help of area schoolchildren), the mosaic is now a permanent part of the Kirkwood museum. Wright is pictured above with The Magic House president Beth Fitzgerald. (Photo courtesy of The Magic House)

Insider-Carol-Harris-Wall-3.29.2016Congratulations to Mitchell Wall Architecture and Design on 40 stellar years. The firm celebrated with a birthday bash at Parigi, one of its latest design projects. Pictured: president Carol Wall.

Insider-Owen-Pic-crop-to-tight-vertical-of-him-onlyChesterfield resident Tom Owen was named 2015 Citizen of the Year at the March City Council meeting. Owen has been a Scoutmaster of Troop 597 for 16 years and has helped 35 young men earn the highest rank of Eagle Scout. He has encouraged his Scouts to learn about citizenship and to participate in their communities through countless service projects.

Insider-FloPaul-webConcordia Seminary student Paul Flo is one of only 12 seminarians nationally to receive a 2016 Fellowship at Auschwitz for the Study of Professional Ethics. Flo will spend 12 days in Germany and Poland exploring and discussing ethical issues surrounding all aspects of the Holocaust.

Insider-Cheryl-Asa-portrait_Ray-Meibaum_webThe Academy of Science St. Louis has named its Outstanding Scientists for 2015, based on their contributions to research, industry and quality of life. Cheryl Suzanne Asa (pictured), of the Saint Louis Zoo, received the Lifetime Achievement Award. Asa, a foremost expert on wildlife contraception, is a pioneer in the development of noninvasive techniques to evaluate animal reproduction. Other awardees include Henry Foley of U. Missouri Columbia; Sherri Brown of Monsanto; James Birchler of U. Missouri Columbia; Thomas Burris of SLU School of Medicine; Gary Patti of W.U.; Tiffani Eisenhauer of Mallinckrodt Pharmaceuticals; Gary Stormo, Lilianna Solnica-Krezel and Robi Mitra of W.U. School of Medicine; Yuanlong Pan of Nestle Purina; and Kyra Krakos of Maryville University. Kudos to all!