Alexis Wright
New City School
Alexis Wright has been the head of New City School since 2016. Alexis is a nationally recognized leader in the areas of elementary education and diversity with 28 years of experience in independent schools. He also is one of this year’s recipients of the prestigious Heads of School Fellowship at Columbia University’s Teachers College.

5209 Waterman Blvd.

Jarrett Young
City Academy
Jarrett Young holds a B.A. from Bowdoin College and an M.Ed. from Harvard University. He joined City Academy in 2022 after serving as middle school director at Whitfield School for five years. A St. Louis native, he grew up near City Academy, attending MICDS for middle and high school.

4175 N. Kingshighway Blvd.

Rob Butler
Forsyth School
Rob Butler joined Forsyth as head of school in 2021 after serving as the assistant head at University Liggett School in Michigan. He holds a master’s degree from Oklahoma State University and a bachelor’s degree from Northeastern State University. Rob joined the Independent Schools of St. Louis (ISSL) Board of Trustees in 2023.

6235 Wydown Blvd.

Chris Cunningham, Ph.D.
Whitfield School
With more than 25 years of experience in independent schools, Chris joined Whitfield in 2022. As head of school, he affirms Whitfield’s commitment to 21st-century education—to teaching for depth rather than breadth, to caring for students’ social and emotional well-being, and to aligning academic rigor and strength of character.

175 S. Mason Road

Thad Falkner
The Wilson School
Appointed to lead The Wilson School in 2006, Thad Falkner is one of the most experienced heads of school in St. Louis. Thad believes Wilson’s motto, Make Your Mark A Good One, influences the school’s culture and motivates students to do their best, for themselves as well as for others.

400 De Mun Ave.


Special advertising feature