Heard in the Halls

Heard in the Halls: 7.15.15

Seven students from Westminster Christian Academy made it to the big stage for The Muny’s 97th season. The students, who range from middle-schoolers to recent graduates, were selected as members of the Teen Chorus. This is the largest number of students from the school to be cast in a single season. (Pictured above)

Halls_MICDSMICDS seniors gathered on the patio at Lester’s after the May Day celebration, where two May Queens were crowned: Jody Jones and Maya Howard. Pictured: Roey Vardi, Satchel Kahn, Mason Bohlmann, Stephen Mattingly, Julani Brown, Hamza Ali, Chilembwe Asante, Christian Burmeister, Michael Bell, Tom Carpenter, Constantine Veronikis, Harrison Smith.

Halls_Kirkwood-High-School Kirkwood senior Clay Beabout, who is diagnosed with VACTERL association and thoracic insufficiency syndrome, was granted his wish by the Make A Film Foundation to create a documentary about his life. Deep Blue Breath stars Beabout alongside Hollywood actors Sean Astin, Natasha Gregson Wagner, Miguel Sandoval and Ernie Hudson. The directors of Little Miss Sunshine, Jonathan Dayton and Valerie Faris, and actor Elijah Wood mentored Beabout during filmmaking. A red carpet premiere was held locally at the Sun Theater in Grand Center. Pictured: Sean Astin and Clay Beabout

Halls_Webster-GrovesOn the first day of summer vacation, Israeli jazz trumpeter Avishai Cohen hosted a clinic at Webster Groves High School for students as part of Jazz St. Louis’ Emerson Jazz in Schools program, which brings visiting artists to area schools at no cost. Ten student musicians worked closely with Cohen and his bandmates, Linda Oh and Nasheet Waits.

Halls_Wilson-SchoolFourth-, fifth- and sixth-graders at The Wilson School participated in the St. Louis Box Turtle Project through the zoo. They tracked turtles at Forest Park and at the zoo with telemetry equipment, observing how field data is recorded by scientists for research on the turtles and their movement and health in native habitats.

Halls_Rohan-WoodsRiley Ehlermann, a recent sixth-grade graduate of Rohan Woods School, was the recipient of the Jeannine Taylor Award, an 18-year tradition at the school. Named after a former first-grade teacher, the award recognizes a student who embodies compassion, enthusiasm, friendship and school spirit. Pictured: Riley Ehlermann and head of school Sam Templin-Page

Thirty-one of the area’s elite high school baseball players from public schools throughout the region recently hit the field at Busch Stadium for the Delta Dental High School All-Star Baseball Game and Home Run Derby. The graduating seniors were selected by their school’s coaching staff and coached by former Cardinals Scott Cooper and Kerry Robinson.


Skip to toolbar